Javascript DHTML Image Web Scroller Powered by

Junior Camrose & Peggy Bayer



The Junior Camrose Home Internationals for players aged under 25 years

The series, initially for those under 27, but now for those under 25, was launched on 18/19th September 1971 in Glasgow. Scotland won. Members of that team Sandy Duncan, Barnet Shenkin, George Cuthbertson, and Derek Diamond all went to represent Scotland in the Camrose. The other team members were David Shenkin and Cameron McLatchie.
Scotland also won in 1973, 1975 and 1976. In 1972 and 1978 Scotland tied with England.
England won outright for the first time in 1974 and again in 1977 (the event that year was actually played in December 1976). Since 1979 England has dominated the event, tying with Scotland in 1998 but winning the rest. Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland (who joined in January 1999 when the event was played in Dublin) have yet to win the trophy.

The Under 20s Home Internationals for the Peggy Bayer Trophy

The Under 19 Home Internationals was launched on 3/4th February 1990 in Cheltenham with a trophy donated by the late Palmer Bayer (also the founder of the Educational Trust for British Bridge) in honour of his wife Peggy. Only Scotland and England took part with Scotland winning. The Scottish team contained Geoff Bateman, 13 (the older of the Bateman brothers who subsequently played many Junior events for Scotland) and his partner Caldwell, 14. Scotland won again in 1995 and 1997 but England has won the rest. Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland (who joined in January 1999) have yet to win.
The youngest-ever competitor was Clare Evans of Wales who competed aged 9 on 30/31 January 1999 in Dublin having been born on 2nd May 1989.

Every year the CBAI holds trails for a Junior and a Schools team to represent them in a friendly international between the home nations Ireland, England, scotland, Wales & Northern Ireland.  The trails for positions on these teams are usually held in September and will be always be advertised on this site


Meet the 2006 Teams

Meet the 2007 Teams